top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureWheeling Wildthings

Surviving The Mental Game

I have been coaching travel baseball for the last 5 years and baseball for the last 12. i have had some kids that just get caught up in the game and have trouble controlling their emotions. Whether it be a bad call, error, missed called strike, or a hit the doesn't fall in. some times the game speeds up and you can control your emotions. As a head coach I am going to research this topic and hopefully pass alone some good advice as I become better at help my players deal with these situations. I found this following post on another website and wanted to share it. hope it helps! (http://www.gocentralbaseball.com/other-stuff.html)


Heads-Up Baseball 2.0 


Day 1 Player A- Wow, the ball looks big! I love hitting. Player B- I have felt better. My body's a little sore. Can't say I am swinging it great, but it could be worse. Player C- Why did I swing at the pitch in my eyes and take the one down the middle? I can't hit. You may only have 70% of your stuff on a give day, but your mission is to give 100%. Goal: Give 100% of what you have to win the next pitch!


Day 2 Emotional Roller coaster - things go your way one moment and against you the next. I hit bombs in BP, but in games I freeze or swing at bad pitches. Goal: Practice competing under pressure, if you hope to play well under pressure.

Day 3 Responsibility is the ability to respond to any situation by focusing your thoughts and actions on the next pitch.  Being responsible means you choose your thoughts and actions. No responsibility means I am a victim of my circumstances. Goal: Maintain focus and a positive attitude when adversity strikes.

Day 4 Choose to focus on what you can control. You can not control what happens around you (Umpires, weather, getting a hit, etc.), but you can control how you respond. You must be in control of yourself before you can control your performance. Goal: Attitude is a decision.

Attitude is a decision 3-2 count, big game and you make what you think is a great pitch...but the umpire calls it ball four. It is normal to get upset and angry in that situation. But how will you choose to respond? The goal is to give 100% of what you have to win the next pitch. How does getting mad at the umpire help that? 

Attitude is a decision Try to focus on things you can control. Instead of the umpire, weather or how you feel, execute. Play catch, attack the zone, QAB.

Day 5 Knowing yourself is essential for preparing yourself to compete. Present moment awareness enables you to adjust pitch to pitch, and allows you to take ownership of your performance. You can simplify the idea of awareness by imagining a traffic signal light inside you. When you feel good (confident, focused, present, ready) - Green light. When something throws you off your game, you feel off, and the game speeds up on you - Yellow light. When you lose control - Red light. Goal: Understand awareness

Learn from your mistakes. Ask 3 questions: 1. What worked? 2. What do I have to get better at? 3. How will I apply what I learned to my next performance?

Day 6 ​A complete routine has 3 parts:Before the performance-  "I have a very clear and detailed pregame routine for defense and hitting. I stay with my pregame routine because that’s where my consistency begins.” Chris Bryant During the performance–“When I feel myself losing control or the game is speeding up on me, I look at the foul pole. This is my reminder to release that last pitch and focus on the next one.” Evan Longoria After the performance- Let go of any negative emotions, clarify the lessons learned, and put myself f in position for success next time. Goal: Have a routine

Day 7 Attitude: Many players spend more energy on trying to avoid what they don't want to happen than they do on what they do want to happen. I don't want to strike out or don't walk this guy. What is your mission? To have a great performance.

Attitude: "When I feel myself losing control or the game is speeding up on me, I look at the foul pole. This is my reminder to release that last pitch and focus on the next one." Evan Longoria

Day 8 Compete- Giving 100% of what you have got right now to win the next pitch.  "Being in control of the 15 seconds between pitches is as important - or more important - than being in control during the pitch."

Green light- Prepared, focused, confident (A game) Yellow light- Rattled, nervous, Not confident, negative voice in head (B game) Red light- Scared, tense (can't focus), You believe your negative self talk (C game)

You can be cruising through a game with a green light feeling and focus, and 1 of the following things can happen: 1. Bad call by umpire- Anger, frustration, tension 2. Make an error- Embarrassment, hands tighten up 3. Give up several runs- Think "I am a loser" 4. Swing at a bad pitch- Speed up and forget routine

What can you do? Take a breath Take extra time- Step off the rubber or out of the box, adjust your hat, jersey or glove. Use a release- Use your foot to wipe away whatever just triggered you.  You are not a robot. You will get upset no matter how much mental training you do. Express the feeling, then release it and get back to the next pitch.


You have to come to the realization that things need to change for you to over come your attitude problem. It is not going to come from your coach or parent continuing to yell at you about fixing it. it has to be an internal mindset change. A mental cue that you can use to get back on course. A routine that is formed and practiced just like any other baseball skill. its not going to be perfect and it is not going to be easy but it will make you a better player and PERSON!

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page